Slow Cooker Blog

Yesterday, I tried out a new slow cooker strategy: layered cooking. I cooked some steak at the bottom of the slow cooker and put some potatoes wrapped in aluminum foil on top of the meat. Eight hours later, both the meat and the potatoes were perfectly cooked! The idea came from a wonderful blog that I have discovered: A Year of Crockpotting. You can find some wonderful recipes to help you save money on this blog.

This entry was posted in Money Saving Strategies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slow Cooker Blog

  1. To save both time and money I use my crockpot weekly. I have always put the potatoes/veggie’s in the bottom and meat on top. I have got to try this method as my potatoes often are overcooked! Great tip thanks -Machelle

  2. thepennypincher says:

    You are welcome! Yesterday morning, I filled my slow cooker with foil covered potatoes. Worked like a charm: the potatoes were delicious and served as a side for some sausage that I fried up. My next experiment: cooking vegetables wrapped in foil in the slow cooker.

Leave a Reply

