Costco

I renewed my Costco membership and went shopping. I will be comparing the cost of food bought at Costco and what it would have cost me at my local grocery store. Total purchases today: $121.38 CDN.

My purchases:

  • 5 dozen eggs $11.55
  • Hot pepper rings (2 liters or 2 quarts) $3.99
  • Medium cheddar (2 pounds or 907 g) $11.59 – $2.50 rebate = $9.09
  • Kraft dinner 9 pack $7.99
  • Pancake mix (4.53 kg or 10 pounds) $7.88
  • 6 cans of pink salmon $7.49
  • Pace salsa (1.7 liters or 1.8 quarts) $6.59
  • 12 x 12oz cans of niblets corn $11.99
  • 1 gallon homo milk $4.36
  • 20 pounds of potatoes $9.99
  • 10 kg or 22 pounds of sugar $10.99
  • 4 liters (roughly 1 gallon) of canola oil $6.99
  • 2 liters or 2 quarts of Bick’s pickles 4.59
  • 8 kg (roughly 18 pounds) of Jasmine rice $12.99
  • Garlic 1.41 liters (1.5 quarts) of minced garlic $4.59

My wife and I avoided all impulse buys and bought produce in bulk that we use daily or will last us for months. My wife likes the minced garlic in soups or added to our salted cabbage. What we bought will last us for more than a year. The rice will last us for several months and we eat eggs almost daily, so we have enough to last a few weeks. As for the pancake mix, I am set for a few months.

Some things are definitely not cheaper (milk); some are marginally cheaper at best (cheese) but the others I am certain are cheaper, but I will be comparing to see if I am correct. A few are a bit more expensive that what I could have bought as no-name cheap brands, but they are better in quality (for example Kraft Dinner).

What do you think? Would it have been cheaper to shop for these goods elsewhere?

This entry was posted in Money Saving Strategies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

