Homemade Bread

Using a recipe and instructions from The Simple Dollar, I baked my first bread.

making_bread_11

I am using a silicon bread pan. They work great. They do not have to be greased and the bread does not stick.

making_bread_21

I was actually pleasantly surprise to see how the dough rose. To create a warm place, I had turned on the furnace for a few minutes and then put the dough in. It worked like a charm. The dough rose nicely.

making_bread_31

The final product!

making_bread_4

The final result: a delicious loaf of bread with no preservatives or chemicals. Estimated cost: 60-70 cents. This is based on my estimate that I used roughly 350 grams of flour and that 10kg of flour would be enough for 30 such loaves of bread. The cost of 10kg of flour would range between $6 and $8. This would mean that my loaf had 20 to 30 cents of flour in it. The next biggest expense would be the yeast.

Having succeeded in making bread, I wanted to experiment in making hamburger buns. I used the same recipe and instead of a bread pan, I used a siliocone muffin pan.

making_bread_51

making_bread_61

making_bread_721

Success! Six nice buns. Tomorrow, I will see they taste as hamburger buns!

My thanks to Trent of The Simple Dollar for his recipe!

This entry was posted in Money Saving Strategies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

