Waste Not, Want Not

I have to confess, I almost threw out some food. I cooked half a ham in my slow cooker and forgot to take it out. I left it in the slow cooker all night on the “keep warm” setting. It did not look apetizing. The meet was dessicated and I thought that I had to throw it out. I showed it to my wife, and she said no, it was still good, and that we would eat it.

As always, my wife was right. The center of the meat was still tender. True, the outside was a bit too well done, but it was not burnt. In taste and texture, it reminds me of soft beef jerky, and I like beef jerky šŸ˜‰ So, we are eating the ham. We used it to make sandwiches yesterday for supper and today for lunch. We likely will eat the last of the meat tonight. So, in spite of my forgetting to take out the ham, we still did not waste any food. However, next time I will not forget to take out the food from the slow cooker before going to bed šŸ˜‰

This entry was posted in Money Saving Strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

