Soap Sacks

I have found another way of saving some money: soap sacks. Before, I used to buy body wash and body puffs for the shower. The body wash is extremely extensive: $3, $4 or $5 dollars. I like the lather that the body wash produced and preferred it to washing with a regular bar of soap, which was much cheaper. However, I came across soap sacks which are a nice alternative. You put the soap inside the sack and you can lather up the soap, creating as much lather as a body wash.

The soap also dries nicely in the soap sack which does not leave it soft and slimy as soap usually gets in the shower. Simply put, it allows me to enjoy the benefits of body wash at the cost of cheap soap. This is not the brand that I have (I bought a cheap version at Wal-Mart), but this ad will give you a general idea of what a nylon soap sack looks like.

This entry was posted in Money Saving Strategies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Soap Sacks

  1. Joanne says:

    You’ve brought back a childhood memory. My mother (who was frugal by nature and circumstance) used to save the little pieces of soap that were too awkward to use. When she had enough she would make a little bag out of a worn flannel (face washer) and fill it with the soap scraps.
    Nothing was wasted when I grew up!

  2. When helping my father clear out my Grandmother’s house I found a metal “basket” (about 1″ x 2″ x 3″) with a 6″ handle attached. At first I couldn’t figure out what it was, then I noticed the scraps of soap inside the “basket”. When the “basket” is swished in a sink or tub of water, it produces suds…………….

Leave a Reply

