Cost or Convenience

I have to confess, one of my weaknesses is popcorn. I love popcorn! I could eat popcorn every day. However, the challenge is balancing cost, convenience and taste.

For a while, I was buying popcorn bags for the microwave in bulk from Costco. It was convenient, but to be honest, I did not like the taste.

Before that, I had been using a popcorn maker that worked on hot air. It was good, but I found the popcorn a bit dry. It didn’t match the taste of homemade popcorn made on the stove. The popcorn maker also burnt out after a while.

I then returned back to making popcorn on the stove. It is the taste that I like, but of course it is not as convenient as making it in the microwave.

Finally, I spotted an interesting item at my local London Drugs: a Nordic Ware Microwave Popcorn Popper.

popcorn-popper

This popcorn popper can be used with or without oil. I prefer using oil as it makes popcorn that tastes exactly like mom used to make it or as I make it on the stovetop 😉 It is also convenient: I put it in the microwave for 3.5 minutes and the popcorn is ready.

My only concern: cost and durability. The cost at London Drugs is $11.99 plus taxes. It is not cheap, but this popcorn maker is durable. It is made of Gemstone (still haven’t discovered what exactly that is) and the bowl itself is unbreakable. As for the cost, it has the convenience of popcorn bags, but I am certain that I have paid for the popper by now: it is a lot cheaper bying popcorn and oil as opposed to microwave popcorn bags.

All told, trying to find a right balance between convenience and cost can be a challenging process. I am happy that I have found a good solution to feed my popcorn habit 😉

This entry was posted in Money Saving Strategies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

